Vada Pav Gleanings

Archive for October 19th, 2009

Not surprising, at all !

leave a comment »

To begin with, let me state the unobvious. I am a huge admirer of Trinidad and Tobago. Not just the cricket team, but the island-nation, it’s culture, the music (Chutney and Soca for starters) and sorry if I got this one wrong, the politics. In fact, one of my Trinidadian friends calls me “Naina” (because Jep Sting Naina – one of the hit Chutney songs in Trinidad) But what led me to fall in love with these very attributes was cricket, of course. So, to see them perform as well as they are doing in the Airtel Champions League T20 is heartening, but the analyst in me says it shouldn’t be surprising – for Trinidad perhaps have the best cricketing set-up in the Caribbean and should ideally stand out as the model, the bigger West Indies Cricket Board must look up to.

Okay. I follow two teams very closely in the West Indies – Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana (blame me for being parochial here, but that’s where I get to see how the players of Indian origin are performing). From what I’ve seen for the past two-three years, Trinidad has somewhere raised its level cricket – off and on the field – a notch. There is not just a concious effort on the part of the cricketers to perform on the field, coming up with individual and team excellence consistently, but also the administrators have put their hands up, by making available a platform for youngsters to come through the ranks, make the cut and the results, of course are here to see. Read the rest of this entry »

Written by Venkat Ananth

October 19, 2009 at 9:43 am

About this blog !

leave a comment »

Hello Hello,

What drives me into getting to blogging is that same old urge to write. It’s been kicking me ever since I landed in India from the UK, finished my thesis and was just idling around doing nothing – except reading research papers on various subjects. There was this desire to jot down those musings, about everything at large and everything I rant about on twitter – be it cricket, the Indian media, Mumbai (where I belong), and of course politics (something I love discussing, but something I haven’t ventured into writing about as yet). So, hopefully will put this platform to good use. I am also exploring some regular podcasts on cricket – if possible and let’s see how this goes ahead.

And most importantly, I am hoping to be regular – as my previous two blogs – The Cricket Journal and Venkat Unplugged! have suffered from lack of periodic writing and posting. Hope you enjoy the posts.

Regards,

Venkat

Written by Venkat Ananth

October 19, 2009 at 8:32 am

Posted in General